Mississippi Schools of Social Work

NASW MS 2023 Student of the Year Award Nominees



BSW Student of the Year

Shawn Hannah-Rust College

MSW Student of the Year

Whitney May-Jackson State University

Lifetime Achievement

Rhonda Carr

Social Worker of the Year

Dr. Vince Venturini

Social Work Pioneer

Dr. Gemma Beckley



Rust College

Undergraduate: Shawn Hannah

Belhaven University

Undergraduate: Chantz Taylor

Mississippi State University-Meridian Campus

Undergraduate: Heather Radcliffe

Alcorn State University

Undergraduate: Danielle Phelps

Jackson State University

Undergraduate: Aliyah Perkins

Mississippi State University-Starkville Campus

Undergraduate: Alana Hunter

Jackson State University

Graduate: Whitney May

University of Mississippi

Graduate: Jennie Spicer

University of Southern Mississippi-Gulf Coast Campus

Graduate: Reginald Virgil

small group of people studying together